Video Recordings

Bob Dylan
August 14, 1994
Woodstock Festival
Saugerties, New York, USA
Sound-upgraded (Crystal Cat)

  • Jokerman
  • Just Like A Woman
  • All Along The Watchtower
  • It Takes A Lot To Laugh It Takes A Train To Cry
  • Don't Think Twice It's Alright
  • Masters Of War
  • It's All Over Now Baby Blue
  • God Knows
  • I Shall Be Released
  • Highway 61 Revisited
  • Rainy Day Women #12 & 35
  • It Ain't Me Babe

  • You Win Again (with Willie Nelson from "Willie & Friends")
  • A Change Is Gonna Come (from "Apollo 70th Anniversary")
  • It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry (Shepherds Bush Empire 23 Nov 03)

This dvd along with possibly only D274,D326 and D005 truly merits 5 stars and an 'Essential rating. If Sony music ever want to put out a visual companion to 'The Bootleg Series' all they would have to do is stick these 4 in a box and Bob's reputation as a premier live performer would be assured.

Sound and picture are both excellent, indeed it is hard to see how an official release could improve them and most importantly the performance is first rate. The band sound good,Dylan's lead guitar has yet to reach the excesses of 1996 and the the vocals remain consistent from start to finish.

In fact the only possible criticism that could be labelled at this performance is the song selection which apart from 'God Knows' and 'Jokerman' remains rooted solidly in the '60s. But what is here is all performed to a high standard.

Hard to pick any highlights but the first electric set builds to a great climax with 'It Takes A Lot To Laugh..' while 'It's All Over Now,Baby Blue' would be the pick from the acoustic set. The 2nd electric set while featuring a couple of pub rockers;'Highway 61..' and 'Rainy Day Women..' is still good. The bonus tracks are quite nice too although try as I might I can't quite convince myself that 'A Change Is Gonna Come' is a good vocal performance!

I'm sure this review is totally redundant as Woodstock '94 already has a great reputation but it may help it to get closer to the top of the DvDylan charts!!

Reviewed by Bobfan1 on 07th March 2007

Screenshot Preview Screenshot Preview Screenshot Preview Screenshot Preview Screenshot Preview Screenshot Preview