Video Recordings

November 4, 1993
Maple Leaf Gardens
Toronto, Ontario, USA
2 DVDs
AMT #1
91 mins - incomplete
Jim Hirte
Jim Hirte

  • Drain You
  • Breed
  • About A Girl
  • Heart-Shaped Box
  • Sliver
  • Serve The Servants
  • Dumb
  • In Bloom
  • Come As You Are
  • Lithium
  • Pennyroyal Tea
  • School
  • Polly
  • Milk It
  • Rape Me
  • Territorial Pissings
  • All Apologies
  • Jesus Wants Me For A Sunbeam
  • On A Plain
  • Scentless Apprentice
  • Blew

Missing the opening song, "Radio Friendly Unit Shifter".

Review: Shot from an elevated position to the left of the stage. Early on, the camerawork is very poor, but improves dramatically during the concert. There are excellent shots of all members except Dave who is hidden behind the PA. The picture is excellent, it is very clear and sharp. The audio is also very good and clear throughout the show. The order of songs on the setlist is unique, and the video reveals why this is the case: the band launch into "Serve The Servants" after "Sliver" because Lori Goldstein was not ready to play "Dumb". Cobain seems to be in a very dark mood: for example, during the solo of "Serve The Servants", he stares with frightening intensity, and seems so exasperated with his situation that the viewer feels prurient to watch. His mood does seem to improve as the concert progresses, and by "In Bloom", he rests his guitar on the stage floor and plays the solo with his foot. The rendition of "Jesus Doesn't Want Me For a Sunbeam" goes a little awry. For the grand finale, Cobain goes in for some half-hearted destruction: he knocks over a stack of amplifiers, and attempts to decapitate a mannequin (a life size model of the figure adorning the cover of "In Utero"), but only manages to send it crashing to the stage, where it shatters into many pieces. The video concludes with scenes shot outside the venue and of Toronto's metro system.

Audio: AC3 (Dolby digital) @ 448k bitrate